Welcome!

About Photoventures

Welcome to my new blog!  Inspired by photographers like Trey Ratcliff and Lisa Bettany I have decided to start a blog to share my photos, one new photo posted every day.  Along with the photo will be a story about how I took the shot or an interesting story about where the photo was taken.  Also, I’ll share my thoughts on photography, links to photos or articles by other photographers I find interesting, and various other surprises.  Feel free to leave comments and please do check back often as there will be a new photo posted every day.

Today’s Photo – Sunset In Siena

This photo was taken last August in Siena, Italy.  The church on the right hand side is Basilica of San Domenico.  While exploring the city earlier in the day, I had passed what I knew was going to be a great location to get a sunset photo from and as the sun got lower in the sky it became clear that the sunset that night was going to be a good one.  I hurried back to the location I had passed earlier (without getting lost, which can be a small miracle in many Italian towns where the roads can be quite confusing) and was rewarded with this shot.  I originally planned to make an HDR image out of the three exposures I had taken but once I loaded the files onto the computer for editing, I saw that this was a great photo to make into a silhouette.

Silhouette of Basilica of San Domenico in Siena at sunset

Categories: Italy | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Welcome!

  1. Pretty Jeff….what a great way to start the New Year with your blog!! Will look forward to your daily posts!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

